*SEE RULES BELOW                                                                                                                      POINT STANDINGS

2002 marks the 20th Anniversary for the Kryderacing Regional Championship Series at Nelson Ledges Road Course. It was twenty years ago when Reed and Sandi Kryder sat with Track Manager John McGill in his kitchen and offered to buy the first place trophies if the series would be called the Kryderacing Regional Championship Series. Nelson Ledges had been without a series for a couple of years and we felt it needed to return. John thought it was a good idea except for one thing: he wanted us to also run the series.

We have seen a lot of things during the course of the series. There have been good times and bad times. Right now we are in a growth period, which has lasted for several years. Total entries, average entries per event, and participation at the Awards Banquet have all shown steady growth. There is no reason to not believe 2002 could easily be our best ever from these and other standpoints.

The list of award winners includes many multiple winners who have been regulars at Nelson Ledges for a long time. Names such as F. Reed Andrew, Dave Smith, and Ray Longhitano appeared as trophy winners in 1983. They are still active. Ed Lowther won a Kryderacing Trophy. Dick Greer, who most people know as a GT racer, was a Sports 2000 Champion in 1983. Ahsen Yelkin won several times years ago. His son, Cemal, was the 1998 Formula Continental Champion. Bob Ruman won the GT1 Championship in 1993 before moving onto the Trans Am Series. His daughter, Amy, totally dominated every Spec Racer Ford event she entered on her way to the 1999 Championship. Firestone’s racing tire director, Al Speyer, has a Kryderacing plaque somewhere amongst his collection of awards. Other past Champions such as Mike Galati, Tom VanCamp, Mike Cyphert, Steve Fried, Ben Beasley, and Will Nonnamaker have gone on to National Championships and professional careers.

Over the years the awards banquet has also become a platform from which to also honor many of the workers who contribute so much to the events at Nelson Ledges Road Course. This annual November Banquet has become recognized as one of the “must” things to attend at the end of each season.

The series has been associated with many well-known companies during the last 19 years. The Magic Touch Award presented by Mechanix Wear to the outstanding mechanic has been well received during the last couple of years. Hoosier Tire has been at the track and a supporter of the series. Baer Brake Systems joined us last year. 2002 series supporters will be announced at a later date.

For the third consecutive year, five SCCA Regions will put on events. There are eleven events spread out over six weekends. Five of the weekends will feature “Double” events with results from each day counting towards the point totals. The season finale, a single event, will award double points for the feature races held on Sunday.

2002 Kryderacing Regional Championship Series Schedule:

May 4-5 Double Regional Steel Cities Region
May 25-26 Double Regional Finger Lakes Region
June 15-16 Double Regional NEOhio Region
August 17-18 Double Regional Mahoning Valley Region
October 19-20 Double Regional Mahoning Valley Region
October 26-27 Single Regional Western New York Region

November 23 Awards Banquet Colonial Catering



2002 Rules

Rule 1: General statement: The SCCA Regions putting on the individual Regional events have all authority over any and all results of their events. For the purpose of our series, we will use the official results of each event as determined by the sanctioning Region. Any disputes arising from the decisions of the Region are to be resolved through that Region and not Kryderacing.

Rule 2: All competing drivers will be awarded points in their class based on the final results. Points will be assigned as follows:

                            First Place:           9 points
                            Second Place:      6 points
                            Third Place:          4 points
                            Fourth Place:        3 points
                            Fifth Place:           2 points
                            Sixth Place:          1 point

In addition, each competing driver will receive “1” point for every competing car in their class that they were classified ahead of in the final results.

Rule 3: For the year 2002, in order to be eligible for the Series and class awards competitors must have entered a minimum of five events in the class for which the award will be presented. Competitors who enter but are unable to start the race will have the event count towards their minimum. Competitors who withdraw and are refunded their entry fee will not have the event counted towards their minimum.

Note: This rule is based on taking the maximum number of events run by a single Region and adding one. This requirement does vary from year to year, but usually does not change once the season begins.

Rule 4: Awards will be made in each class for Champion, Second, and Third Place. The awards will be presented at the annual Banquet. If no banquet is held, Kryderacing will assume the responsibility for delivering the awards to the recipients.

Rule 5: There will be a maximum of two “points events” per weekend. For Double Regional weekends, the feature race of each Regional will be the “points event“. For Single Regional weekends, the feature event for each class will count for double points.

Rule 6: Kryderacing has the sole right to make decisions regarding any situation not covered by the Rules 1-5.